About Us

We make connections to help get surplus produce to hungry people

As both a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation and a program of Rotary District 5030, Harvest Against Hunger works with farmers, truckers, volunteers and others to bring valuable skills and resources into hunger relief efforts in communities across Washington state and beyond.

Below are lists of information, including our Mission Statement, Strategic Objectives, information about our Board of Directors and staff, policies, and financial reports.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions regarding Harvest Against Hunger’s work, ongoing programs, partnerships or opportunities.

Big Picture: Mission, Vision, Strategies

An equitable and resilient nutritious food ecosystem across Washington state.  

To cultivate, strengthen and connect food system partners to ensure healthy food for people in need.  

  • Increasing access to nutritious foods builds healthier communities
  • Food loss and waste can be transformed into opportunities
  • Collaboration strengthens the hunger relief system
  • Ensuring equity of access to nutritious food across communities
  • Healthy food is a human right

Develop strategies and best practices for three key areas impacting hunger and food waste:

1) The future of farming

2) The future of transportation and trucking

3) The future of food waste


Support and expand advocacy for legislation that addresses hunger issues at the city, county and state levels.

Assess and evaluate organizational activities and the effects of those activities to help reduce hunger and food waste.

  • HAH Board and staff have been actively working to develop an Equity Lens and Equity Statement to guide the organization’s decisions and activities.  Our next activities will include integrating the Equity Lens with all HAH Board, Committee, and Program discussions and decisions.
  • Click here to review the Equity Lens

Our People: Board and Staff

Adam Mihlstin – President

Cary Young – President elect

Bob Olson – Secretary

Stan Kehl – Treasurer

Julie Shott – Immediate Past President

Jim Tanasse – Member

Devon Ahud – Member

Rebecca Jay – Member

Morris Kremen – Member

David Siebert – Member

Jemal Idris – Member

Jan Levy – Member

Tom Buehrer – Member

Oscar Mayorquin – Member

Ngoc Nguyễn – Member

Sara Quinn – Member

Yamilla Sterling – Member

David Bobanick – Executive Director

Katy Boehm – Program & Operations Director

Colleen Turner – Development Director

Olivia Jackiewicz – Farm to Community Program Manager

Avi Bauer – Farm to Community Program Specialist

Maria Mendez-Francisco – Harvest VISTA Program Director

Sarah Armbruster – Harvest VISTA: WA Gleaning Network

Our Policies

Click here to review our Whistleblower policy: Policy_whistleblower 2019

Click here to review our Non-Discrimination Policy: Policy_non-discrimination

Click here to see our Conflict of Interest Policy

Financial Information (990 Reports)